top of page

digital Mike OLAT match pt.1 (wip)

Hi there,

So...I can sense it's gonna be a long way....

Based on the ICT LSX data, I started building a virtual LSX inside of Maya. There are a few options to consider when it comes to replicating the lights in terms of the shape of lights and positions:

1) light type and size: which CG light type would represent LSX the best? A) hexagon mesh light or B) a small area disc light or C) slightly larger area disc light that covers the area of what appears to me a light panel of small light bulbs.

The size of flashlight used in Mike RC1 Maya scene is 7.62 cm x 7.62 cm. Maybe that should be used for LSX lights in Maya.

2) light position: I created locators based on the actual LSX and oriented each locators to point toward the world origin. What is interesting is that It seems each locator is kind of recessed inside the light panel. Have to find out if positioning area lights slightly in front of the light panel or exactly where the locator would affect the result noticeably.

With a little help in Python, I was able to get those 346 lights positioned based on the LSX have them point at the world origin.

With that built, I rendered the first 10 frames with some shader tweak to kick off the OLAT match. Then I hit a wall.

1) brightness pops up in certain frames not sure if it's due to light intensity. In GIF below, when it's frame 8, corresponding to LSX light 195, the OLAT image is much brighter than neighboring frames. Similar brightness pops happen for light 164, light 259, etc. Not sure if this is intentional at the moment. Need to confirm with the team on If the brightness is intentional, how much brighter should those lights be than others? I notice from the shadows that the light position is off for the popping frame as well.

2) I am eyeballing the phantom cam position in Maya at the moment. Need to figure out if the actual cam position is documented somewhere.

Still got a looong way to go, but I am excited to keep building this up.

Hit me with any feedback and I'd love to discuss with you on this.

Until next time. :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page